Nigeria Union of Teachers

Follow us

This company has no active jobs

0 Review
Rate This Company ( No reviews yet )
    Work/Life Balance
    Comp & Benefits
    Senior Management
    Culture & Value

    Connect with us

    About Company

    Zeta Brent Education
    Direct Bridge Nigeria Limited
    What is today known and called Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT) was founded in July 1931 by the amalgamation of the first two teachers Associations in Nigeria, namely, Lagos Union of Teachers (LUT), formed in 1925 with its founding President as Rev. Canhon J.O. Lucas and the Association of Headmasters of Ijebu Schools (AHIS), led by Rev. I.O. Ransome Kuti, formed in 1926. At an inaugural meeting of the two groups held at CMS Grammar School, Lagos on 8th and 9th July, 1931, a Constitution was drafted and ratified and the Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT) was officially launched after accommodating other Teachers’ Associations from Agege, Ibadan and Abeokuta.
    The following officers were elected at the inaugural meeting:-
    Rev. Isreal Oladotun Ransome Kuti(National President)
    Arch. Deacon J.O. Lucas(National Vice President)
    Mr. T.K. Cameron(Honorary General Secondary)
    These three officers became the first pillars of the Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT). Other key members at the inaugural meeting were Rev. Emmanuel O. Alayande, Rev. Seth I. Kale, Mr. E.N.E. Nkumo and Mr. T.J.O. Sanyade who was the protem Secretary at the inaugural meeting.
    Subsequent consolidatory meetings were attended by other prominent Mission and Government teachers across the country.
    The Nigeria Union of Teachers(NUT) became firmly rooted in the Western and Eastern regions with branches dotting parts of the North in towns such as Sokoto, Kano, Funtua, Minna, Jos, Bukuru, Kafanchan, Maiduguri, Makurdi, Agyaragu, Ilorin, Lokoja, Kabba, Bassa, Offa, Igbomina, Yagba, Otukpo, Jebba and Idah.

    Zeta Brent Education
    Direct Bridge Nigeria Limited

    Contact Us