Benue State Government

Follow us

This company has no active jobs

0 Review
Rate This Company ( No reviews yet )
    Work/Life Balance
    Comp & Benefits
    Senior Management
    Culture & Value

    Connect with us

    About Company

    Benue state was created on February 3, 1976. It was one of the seven new states created by the military administration headed by late General Murtala Muhammed, which increased the number of states in the federation from twelve to nineteen. The state derives its name from the River Benue which is the second largest river in the country and the most outstanding geographic freature in the state.
    At creation, the state comprised three local governments in the Tiv-speaking areas, namely Gboko, Katsina-Ala, and Makurdi; one (Otukpo) in the Idoma-speaking areas and three (Ankpa, Idah and Dekina) in the Igala-speaking areas, which were excised from Kwara state.
    Today, however, with the creation of more states and local governments in 1991, the Igala-speaking local govrnments were excised to form part of the present Kogi state. Presently, benue has twenty-three local governments, with the Tiv speaking area having fourteen while the Idoma-Igede area.

    Miraton Matador Group